Aims to provide help and support to poor and underprivileged hospital patients in the Saint-Jean clinic (Brussels)

Followed by donorinfo since: 
2014

Social mission

Help children in the child-psychiatric unit at the St. Jean clinic to cope with their pain, to combat the exclusion of people lacking the necessary financial income to qualify for the minimal medical examinations and to help humanise hospital stays.

What does Foundation Saint-Jean do?

Actions in support of child psychiatry

  • Recreational activities: Each year, the St. Jean Foundation enables up to 100 children between 3 to 12 years old suffering from severe psychological problems and hospitalised in the psychiatry unit, "Domino", to participate in activities that support their medical therapy such as hippotherapy sessions, music workshops, art therapy and pottery. The Foundation is also involved in providing educational materials and arranging transfers from the clinic to various locations to carry out activities (the sea, farms, swimming pools, etc.). The Foundation covers half the salary of a coordinator and a psychologist. 

  • Refurbishment of the premises / areas: the provision of development expenses of premises to be used for activities, an isolation room for when a child has an attack, a permanent play area on the roof of the St. Jean clinic to be exclusively used by children undergoing treatment in the child psychiatry unit.

Fight against exclusion

  • Medical care: The St. Jean Foundation covers medical care for people lacking the necessary financial income to qualify for the minimal medical examinations (the Foundation have repeatedly intervened, in collaboration with the social services of the St. Jean clinic, when children and adults are hospitalised with no medical insurance).

Humanising hospital stays

  • Creating reception areas: The St. Jean Foundation has contributed to both the creation of an area for receiving families accompanying patients on dialysis and to the extension of the reception areas for services such as radiotherapy treatments, palliative care, etc.

Second hand shop

  • Twice a month , in an area next to the St Jean Hospital, volunteers opened the second hand shop for deprived populations of the neighborhood.

All of the St. Jean Foundation actions are carried out by volunteers.

How can you help?

Financial support:

  • For the organisation of activities offered to children of the Domino (psychiatry) unit.

  • to cover the costs of any modifications to the premises.

  • to help people lacking the necessary financial resources.

Volunteers in Belgium

  •  Fundraising: The St. John Foundation is always looking for volunteers for its activities such as Christmas or Easter Market, second-hand clothes sales, jumble sales and organised lunches.

Release by Donorinfo - Last modification : 23/10/2018

Soutenez cette association qui vient en aide aux personnes démunies hospitalisées à la clinique Saint-Jean (Bruxelles)

Suivi par Donorinfo depuis: 
2014

Mission sociale

Prendre en charge les activités ludiques, sportives, culturelles de jeunes enfants en grande détresse psychique, aider financièrement les personnes dans la précarité afin qu’elles aient accès à des soins élémentaires, accompagner un projet d’insertion d’enfants issus de l’immigration.

Que fait la fondation Saint-Jean?

  • Actions de soutien en pédopsychiatrie: 

    • Activités récréatives :la Fondation Saint-Jean permet chaque année à près de 100 enfants âgés de 3 à 12 ans, gravement atteints psychologiquement et hospitalisés dans l’unité de pédopsychiatrie appelée Domino, de participer aux activités qui soutiennent leur thérapie médicale telles que des séances d’hippothérapie, des ateliers musicaux, d’expression plastique, de poterie ; elle intervient également dans la fourniture de matériel didactique ainsi que dans les transferts de la clinique vers différents centres d’activité (mer, ferme, piscine,..). La fondation prend en charge la moitié du salaire d’une coordinatrice et d'une psychologue.

    • Aménagement des locaux/espaces : prise en charge des frais d'aménagement de locaux pour les activités, d'une salle d’isolement lorsqu’un enfant est en crise, d’un espace de jeux définitif sur le toit de la clinique Saint-Jean qui sera exclusivement réservé aux enfants en traitement dans l’unité de pédopsychiatrie.

  • Lutte contre l'exclusion:

    • Soins médicaux: la Fondation Saint-Jean prend en charge les soins médicaux de personnes n’ayant pas les revenus financiers nécessaires pour bénéficier d’un contrôle médical minimal (la fondation est intervenue à diverses reprises pour des enfants ou adultes hospitalisés sans aucune couverture sociale et ce, en concertation avec les services sociaux de la Clinique Saint-Jean).Humanisation de l'hospitalisation

    • Création d'espaces d'accueil : la Fondation Saint-Jean a donné sa contribution à la création d’un espace d’accueil pour les familles accompagnant les patients en dialyse, extension des espaces d’accueil pour les services tels que radiothérapie, soins palliatifs,..

  • Vestiaire : deux fois par mois, dans un local annexe à l'hôpital Saint-Jean, des bénévoles de la fondation Saint-Jean ouvrent le vestiaire de vêtements de seconde main destinés aux populations précarisées du quartier.

Toutes les actions de la Fondation Saint-Jean sont menées par des bénévoles.

Comment pouvez-vous aider?

La fondation Saint-Jean a besoin de vos dons pour:

  • pour l'organisation des activités proposées aux enfants de l'unité Domino (pédopsychiatrie)
  • pour couvrir les frais d'adaptation des locaux
  • pour aider les personnes sans ressources financières.

La fondation Saint-Jean a besoin de volontaires en Belgique:

  •  récolte de fonds: la fondation Saint-Jean est toujours à la recherche de volontaires bénévoles pour ses activités telles que Marché de Noël ou de Pâques, bourse aux vêtements, brocante, organisations de lunchs.


Fiche établie par Donorinfo - dernière modification : 16/01/2018