Centre for social cohesion, diversity and multiculturalism.

Followed by donorinfo since: 
2016

25, rue des Ateliers
1080
Sint-Jans-Molenbeek Saint-Jean
(+32) 02/411.74.95

Mission

Play a positive role in the community so that everybody, regardless of their origin, age, gender or social status, can participate fully in society.

What does Foyer do?

Foyer provides a range of activities for its beneficiaries:

  • Sporting activities:

    • BIS Foyer (Brussels Integration through Sport): the sports section of Foyer, which helps young people from disadvantaged backgrounds to take part in sports in a structured and sustainable way through various activities (sports clubs, participative events, camps etc.)
    • sports initiatives for women (swimming/cycling) in the Dar al Amal women’s centre.
  • Work with young people:

    • Foyer des Jeunes (Foyer for Young People): Foyer’s youth centre is open to children and young people between the ages of 6 and 25.
    • Le WMKJ Foyer (Foyer, activities with young people): this Dutch-speaking service gives disadvantaged young people from the Molenbeek area the opportunity to participate in numerous socio-cultural activities through workshops (circus skills, music, learning methods, volunteering, participative projects, sports camps and outdoor activities)
  • Intercultural healthcare mediation: ethnic and cultural diversity are also present in the healthcare sector. When illnesses are experienced and expressed differently in different ethnic communities, medical services are not always adapted to patients’ needs. Foyer and its intercultural mediators have been working towards the interculturalization of healthcare since 1992, through the use of patients’ mother tongues, attention to and respect for their cultural background, and awareness-raising and training in intercultural communication.

  • Multilingualism advice centre: an increasing number of children are growing up in multilingual environments, which is all too often seen as a problem, especially when minority languages are involved. Foyer offers a wide range of training programmes to protect multilingualism and carries out analyses of the development of multilingual language under the supervision of a speech therapist.

  • Roma and travellers: this service works specifically with Roma stewards and mediators to promote the empowerment and autonomy of Roma and travellers. It covers a number of specific themes: autonomy, orientation, mendicancy, mediation, and integration through teaching and training.

  • Local workshop: Foyer has its own carpentry workshop open to local people who wish to make their own furniture and other items. This activity is voluntary and non-commercial, and is aimed at people who often cannot afford their own furniture.

  • Parenting: support for fathers (at the Kanaletto centre) and mothers (at the Dar al Amal centre).

  • Citizenship education programme: interactive introduction to the practice of citizenship in which young people deal with real-life situations

  • Radicalisation detection and prevention projects.

How can you help Foyer?

Financial support for:

  • the training of a sports coach for disadvantaged young people: €15,000
  • development of the Kanaletto centre, which will consist of two parts: a meeting place with activities for men on the ground floor and a museum space housing exhibits on migration and diversity in Brussels society, on the upper floors. Foyer is currently trying to raise € 150,000 for the furnishing of the museum area.
  • activities for young people (creative workshops, camps): €5,000

Volunteers in Belgium

  • translation (into French and English)

Material and office requirements

  • computer and office equipment
  • tools
  • cleaning and personal care products
Release by Donorinfo - Last modification : 31/01/2018

Centres d'activités sur la cohésion sociale, la diversité et la multiculturalité.

Suivi par Donorinfo depuis: 
2016

25, rue des Ateliers
1080
Sint-Jans-Molenbeek Saint-Jean
(+32) 02/411.74.95

Mission sociale

Jouer un rôle positif dans une société civile où toute personne, quels que soient son origine, son âge, son sexe où sa catégorie sociale, puisse trouver sa place.

Que fait Foyer?

Foyer propose de nombreuses activités à ses bénéficiaires:

  • Activités sportives:

    • BIS Foyer  - Bruxelles Intégration par le Sport: la cellule sport de l’asbl Foyer qui aide par le biais de différentes activités (clubs sportif, happenings, camps,…) des jeunes issus de milieux précaires à faire du sport d’une façon durable et structurée.
    • initiatives sportives pour les femmes (natation, cyclisme) dans la maison de la femme Dar al Amal.
  • Travail avec les jeunes:

    • Foyer des Jeunes : la maison de jeunes du Foyer est ouverte aux enfants à partir de 6 ans jusqu’aux jeunes de 22-25 ans.
    • Le WMKJ Foyer (Foyer, actions avec les jeunes) : ce service néerlandophone propose à des jeunes socialement défavorisés de la zone du canal à Molenbeek de multiples activités socio-culturelles à travers des ateliers ( cirque, musique , méthodologie d'apprentissage, volontariat, projets participatifs, camps sportifs et nature).
  • Médiation inter-culturelle dans les soins de santé: la diversité ethnique et culturelle se manifeste également dans le secteur des soins de santé. Lorsque les maladies sont vécues et exprimées différement selon les communautés ethniques, l’offre médicale n’est pas toujours adaptée à la demande des patients. Depuis 1992, le Foyer et ses médiateurs inter-culturels travaillent à l’interculturalisation des soins de santé: emploi de la langue maternelle, attention et respect accordés aux antécédents culturels, formation et sensibilisation à la communication inter-culturelle.

  • Centre de conseil en multilinguisme: de plus en plus d’enfants grandissent dans un contexte plurilingue trop souvent perçu comme un problème surtout lorsqu’il s’agit de langues minoritaires. Le Foyer offre une large gamme de formations pour défendre le multilinguisme, mène des analyses sur le développement du langage multilingue avec la supervision d'une logopède.

  • Roms et Gens du Voyage:  ce service travaille spécifiquement avec des stewards et des médiateurs Roms pour favoriser l'émancipation et l'autonomie des Roms et des Gens du Voyage. Des  thématiques spécifiques sont abordées: autonomie, orientation, mendicité, médiation, intégration par l'enseignement et la formation. Lire à ce sujet l'article qui relate l'expérience de Tony, un jeune Rom à lm'emploi qui brise tous les clichés. La Libre, 17/05/2016.

 

  • Atelier de quartier: le Foyer dispose de son propre atelier de menuiserie ouvert aux personnes du quartier qui souhaitent fabriquer leurs meubles et objets. Cette activité est volontaire et non-commerciale, ouverte aux pertsonnes qui souvent n'ont pas les moyens de s'offrir leurs propres meubles.

  • Parentalité : soutien à la paternité (au centre Kanaletto) et à la maternité (au centre Dar al Amal).

  • Parcours citoyen: introduction interactive à la pratique de la citoyenneté dans laquelle les jeunes sont confrontés à des situations de vie.

  • Projets de détection et de prévention de la radicalisation.

Comment pouvez-vous aider Foyer?

Soutien financier pour:

  • la formation d'entraineur sportif pour jeunes défavorisés : 15.000€

  • le centre Kanaletto, un nouveau projet qui consistera en deux parties: un espace de rencrontre et d'activités pour hommes au rez-de chaussée et une espace musée à l'étage. Actuellement, Foyer cherche encore 150.000€ pour l'aménagement du centre.

  • les activités jeunesse (ateliers créatifs, camps): 5.000€

Volontaires en Belgique

  •  traduction (vers le français et l'anglais)

Matériel

  • informatique/bureautique

  • outillage
  • produits d'hygiène et d'entretien

Fiche établie par Donorinfo - dernière modification : 10/01/2018