Strengthening the rational basis for medical and veterinary healthcare systems in developing countries and responding to domestic needs of imported and tropical diseases.

Followed by donorinfo since: 
2005

Nationalestraat 155
2000
Antwerpen
03/247 66 66

Mission

The scope of the ITM covers all diseases and health problems related to the specific ecological and socio-economic conditions of developing countries. 

What does the ITM do?

This includes teaching, training, research, the provision of services and the increase in the number of healthcare systems both in Belgium and in the field.

  • The ITM is a member of many international networks and always works in partnership with institutions, governments and communities in developing countries.
  • It is responsible for education and advanced study programmes at PhD and Master’s level in the fields of tropical diseases, public health and the fight against infectious diseases such as AIDS, tropical veterinary medicine and livestock.
  • Regarding research and the provision of services, the ITM is an international reference centre in the following fields: AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, sleeping sickness, Ebola hemorrhagic fever, leishmaniasis, worm infections, livestock diseases and the organisation of healthcare systems. Research is carried out at the Institute and in the field, always incollaboration with local partners. 
  • The Institute of Tropical Medicine in Antwerp (ITM) is leading an international research consortium which will  assess whether treatment with antibodies in the blood of Ebola survivors could help infected patients fight the disease. If the treatment is proven effective, this could be replicated as an option to provide urgent treatment for patients in West Africa.

How can you help the ITM?

Despite the fact that the ITM can receive grants from various authorities, it lacks sufficient funds to achieve all of its objectives.

  • Education: The ITM must meet the high demand for scholarships for one-year Master’s degree programmes aimed at specialists who already have several years’ experience in their field and want to improve healthcare systems in their country.
  • Training: The ITM also lacks necessary funds for training researchers from developing countries at doctoral level. This training is fundamental for the sustainability and autonomy of healthcare systems, the fight against diseases and biomedical research in these countries.
  • Research and provision of services: There is always a great lack of funds. Sixty to ninety per cent of its activity, which includes the field of AIDS must be carried out by funding from external limited funds or sponsorship.

 

Translated by Christina Cordaroy via Translations for Progress

Release by Donorinfo - Last modification : 04/10/2018

Fournir une base

Suivi par Donorinfo depuis: 
2005

Nationalestraat 155
2000
Antwerpen
03/247 66 66

Mission sociale de l'IMT

Le champ d'application de l'IMT couvre toutes les maladies et autres problèmes de santé liés à la situation écologique ou socio-économique spécifique des pays en voie de développement.

Que fait l'IMT?

Ce sont l'enseignement et la formation, la recherche, la prestation de services et l'augmentation de la capacité des systèmes de santé, tant en Belgique que sur le terrain.

  • L'IMT fait partie de nombreux réseaux internationaux et travaille toujours en partenariat avec des institutions, des gouvernements et des communautés des pays du Sud.
  • Il se charge de l'éducation et de la formation avancée (maîtrise et doctorat) dans le domaine des maladies tropicales, de la santé publique, de la lutte contre les maladies contagieuses (telles que le sida), de la médecine vétérinaire tropicale et de l'élevage.
  • En ce qui concerne la recherche et la prestation de services, l'IMT est une référence internationale, e.a. dans les domaines suivants: sida, tuberculose, malaria, maladie du sommeil, fièvre hémorragique Ebola, leishmania, infections par les vers, maladies du bétail et organisation de systèmes de santé. La recherche s'exerce tant à l'intérieur de l'institution que sur le terrain, toujours en collaboration avec des partenaires locaux.
  • L'Institut de Médecine Tropicale d'Anvers (IMT) dirige un consortium de recherche internationale qui permettra d'évaluer si un traitement avec des anticorps présents dans le sang de patients rescapés de la fièvre hémorragique Ebola pourrait aider les patients infectés à combattre la maladie. S'il ce traitement est prouvé efficace, il pourrait être étendu être une option de traitement urgent pour les malades en Afrique de l'Ouest. 

Comment pouvez-vous aider l'IMT?

Malgré le fait qu'il puisse bénéficier de subsides de diverses autorités, l'IMT manque des moyens suffisants pour être à même de réaliser tous ses objectifs.

  • Dans le domaine de l'enseignement, il doit faire face à une importante demande de bourses de formation (maîtrise, un an) destinées à des experts ayant déjà un certain nombre d'années d'expérience sur le terrain et souhaitant être plus efficaces au sein des services de santé de leur pays.

  • Formation: il manque également des moyens nécessaires à la formation au niveau du doctorat des chercheurs en provenance des pays en voie de développement. Cette formation est essentielle au développement durable et autonome des services de santé, de la lutte contre les maladies et de la recherche biomédicale dans ces pays.

  • En ce qui concerne la recherche et la prestation de services, on constate toujours un manque chronique de moyens. De 60 à 90% de cette activité, y compris dans le domaine du sida, doit être exercée en faisant appel au coup par coup à des financements externes limités ou encore à du mécénat.

Fiche établie par Donorinfo - dernière modification : 06/02/2018