Support for musicians and music schools in conflict zones

Followed by donorinfo since: 
2016

Koninginnegalerij 28
1000
Brussels
(+32) 0495 7 92 92

Music Fund's mission

Music Fund is a humanitarian organization that supports musicians and music schools in conflict zones, in developing countries and in Belgium.

What does Music Fund do?

Music Fund collects instruments in Europe, repairs them and gives them a second life in Africa, the Middle East and Central America. Music Fond also trains instrument repairers and offers an exchange of teaching skills.

  • Beta Mbonda project (Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Congo): this percussion group consists of former young offenders who have regained their place in society through their passion for traditional Congolese music. As traditional instruments (madimba, lokombes, ditumba) are difficult to find in Kinshasa, Music Fund set up an instrument workshop there in 2012 to teach young people how to make traditional percussion instruments.

  • Espace Masolo project (Kinshasa, DRC):Espace Masolo is a refuge for street children and young people whose family ties have broken down. Some of them are regarded as child witches. The centre organizes activities and training in cutting and sewing, theatre, music and sculpture. In 2009, Espace Masolo created a fanfare, which has become one of the highlights of the centre’s calendar. Music helps these children and adolescents to find a meaning in their new life. The Espace Masolo fanfare is a regular event in the streets and squares of Kinshasa.

  • UNRWA Project (Gaza, Palestine):Music Fund is working in partnership with UNRWA on a training programme for teachers in Gaza, using music as a teaching tool in basic education. In the refugee camps, children are regularly in contact with music. When the project began in 2013, musical instruments were made available to teachers for their training and teaching. A total of 60 teachers have taken part in the programme in three years.

  • Saving Gaza’s only Grand Piano: in 2015, in anticipation of a concert by conductor and pianist Daniel Barenboim, Music Fund repaired a grand piano - the only concert piano in the region. The project was featured in a BBC documentary.

  • Gaza Music School:this unique music academy in Gaza is supported by the Edward Said National Conservatory of Music and the Qattan Foundation. Students are taught how to play both Western and oriental instruments.

  • Instrument repair workshops (Marche-en-Famenne, Belgium):since 2013, Music Fund has had two repair shops for guitars and wind instruments. They serve as a training centre (for example, for young people who have dropped out of school), a permanent collection point and a workshop for repairing all the instruments collected by Music Fund. Visits to the workshop are organized for disabled people in cooperation with the Union Francophone des Handicapés. The workshops also offer training courses in instrument making for the inmates of Marche-en-Famenne prison.

Music Fund also has activities in Mozambique, Haiti and Morocco. In Belgium, it provides instruments to elderly people in Gent and Anvers and to refugee centres in Wallonia.

How can you help Music Fund?

Financial support for:

  • The cost of the projects in developing countries (instrument donations, air tickets, local missions, cost of instrument repairs, musicians’ costs, local transport): 60,000 euros / year per  project. In 2016-2019, missions are planned for seven projects: Beta Mbonda & Espace Masolog (DRC), the Tétouan Music Academy (Morocco), Cemuchka (Haiti), ENA and ENM (Mozambique), and Gaza Music Academy (Palestine).

Volunteers in Belgium:

  • logistical assistance: 4 x / year
  • activities, information, public awareness: 3 x /year
  • DIY, maintenance: monthly
  • translations: NL-FR, NL-EN, 5 x / year
  • website: weekly

Volunteers abroad

  • Professional musicians and instrument repairers (from 1 to 3 people per mission).

Equipment needs:

  • Musical instruments and supplies.
Release by Donorinfo - Last modification : 16/05/2018

Soutien aux musiciens et aux écoles de musique dans les zones de conflits.

Suivi par Donorinfo depuis: 
2016

28, Galeries de la Reine
1000
Bruxelles
(+32) 0495 7 92 92

Mission sociale

Music Fund est une organisation humanitaire qui soutient les musiciens et les écoles de musique dans les zones de conflit, dans les pays en développement et en Belgique.

Que fait Music Fund?

Music Fund collecte des instruments en Europe, les répare et leur donne une deuxième vie en Afrique, au Moyen-Orient et en Amérique centrale. Music Fund forme aussi des réparateurs d’instruments et propose l’échange de compétences pédagogiques. 

  • Projet Beta Mbonda (Kinshasa, RD Congo): ce groupe de percussions est composé de jeunes anciens délinquants qui, grâce à leur passion pour la musique congolaise traditionnelle, retrouvent leur place dans la société. Comme les instruments traditionnels (madimba, lokombes, ditumba) sont  difficiles à trouver à Kinshasa, Music Fund a créé en 2012 un atelier de fabrication d'instruments et y assure la formation de jeunes à la fabrication de ces percussions traditionnelles.

  • Project Espace Masolo (Kinshasa, RD Congo): l' Espace Masolo est un centre d'accueil pour les enfants des rues ou des jeunes en rupture de liens familiaux. Certains sont considérés comme des enfants sorciers. Le centre organise des activités et des formations coupe et couture, théâtre, musique, sculpture. En 2009, l'Espace Masolo a créé une fanfare, devenue une des acrtivités phares du centre. La musique aide ces enfants et adolescents à trouver un sens à leur nouvelle vie. La fanfare Espace Masolo se produit régulièrement dans les rues et les places publiques de Kinshasa.

  • Project UNRWA (Gaza, Palestine): Music Fund travaille en partenariat avec UNRWA  à un programme de formation pour les enseignants de Gaza pour utiliser la musique comme outil pédagogique dans l'enseignement fondamental. Dans les camps de réfugiés, les enfants sont régulièrement en contact avec la musique. Au début du projet en 2013, des instruments de musique ont été mis à la disposition des enseignants pour leur formation et l'enseignement. Depuis 3 ans, un total de 60 enseignants ont participé à ce programme.

  • Saving Gaza’s only Grand Piano: en prévision d'un concert du chef d'orchestre et pianiste Daniel Barenboim, Music Fund a réparé un piano à queue en 2015. cet instrument est le seul piano de concert de la région. Le projet a fait l'objet d'un documentaire de la BBC.

  • Gaza Music School: cette unique académie de musique de Gaza est soutenue par l'Edward Said National Conservatory of Music et la Qattan Foundation. Tant l'apprentissage d'instruments occidentaux qu'orientaux y sont enseignés.

  • Ateliers de réparation d'instruments (Marche-en-Famenne, Belgique): depuis 2013, Music Fund dispose de 2 ateliers de réparation de guitares et d'instruments à vent. Cet atelier fonctionne comme un centre de formation (par ex. pour des jeunes en décrochage scolaire), un point de récolte permanent et un atelier de réparation de tous les instruments récoltés par Music Fund. Des visites y sont organisées pour des personnes handicapées en collaboration avec l'Union Francophone des Handicapés. L'atelier organise aussi des formations de fabrication d'instruments pour les détenus de la prison  de Marche-en-Famenne. 

Music Fund a également des activités au Mozambique, en Haïti et au Maroc. En Belgique, Music Fund met des instruments à la disposition de personnes fragilisées à Gand et à Anvers et dans les centres d'asile en Wallonie.

Comment pouvez-vous aider?

Soutien financier pour:

  • Le coût des projets au Sud (dons d'instruments, billets d'avion, missions locales, coût des réparateurs d'instruments, défraiement des musiciens, transports locaux): 60.000€/an/projet.

En 2016-2019, les missions sont programmées pour 7 projets: Beta Mbonda & Espace Masolo (RD Congo), l'académie de musique de Tétouan (Maroc), Cemuchka (Haiti), ENA & ENM (Mozambique), l'académie de musique de Gaza (Palestine)

Volontaires en Belgique:

  • aide logistique: 4 x/ an

  • animation, information, sensibilisation: 3 x/an

  • bricolage, entretien: mensuel

  • traductions: NL-FR, NL-EN, 5 x/ an

  • website: hebdomadaire

Volontaires à l'étranger:

  • Musiciens et formateurs d'instruments professionnels (de 1 à 3 personnes/mission).

Besoins Matériel:

  • Instruments de musique et fournitures pour les instruments.


Fiche établie par Donorinfo - dernière modification : 18/03/2019