Improving the accessibility and effectiveness of psychological and psychiatric care for refugee and migrant children.

Followed by donorinfo since: 
2015

Solentra's mission

Improving the accessibility and efficiency of psychological care for refugee and migrant children in Belgium, according to the UN Sustainable Development Goal 3 (SDG3), which strives for universal accessibility, affordability, and quality health care. Just like we do, to help children realise their dreams. Solentra ensures this using the specialised PACCT-methodology, an outreaching and empowering methodology with respect for cultural differences, developed by the organisation itself. As such, we work with interpreters as our approach is culturally sensitive.

Solentra

What does Solentra do?

  • Consultations at Solentra: Solentra is an expert in transcultural psychiatry and trauma treatment (more specifically war trauma, migration issues and displacement) and aims to provide psychological care for this target group, faced with uprooting, stress and psychological suffering due to the migration progress. In our therapy centre in Brussels (and other regional centres) we offer high-quality diagnostic and therapeutic support.

    Recognised refugees can also be helped by Solentra, depending on the relevant authorities and the possibility of contributing to the costs. Since psychotherapy is still not reimbursed, this is – especially for the target group – still a big obstacle. In order to keep our service as accessible as possible for people from the target group, who usually have limited resources, Solentra operates for free as much as possible.

    Moreover, Solentra promotes knowledge and expertise for urban and first-line aid organisations that come into direct contact with the target group. We like to share our years of expertise to facilitate the flow of migrant and refugee children who are struggling with psychological problems to the mainstream sector.

  • Community-based work: the DNA of Solentra’s methodology is community-based work, the belief that trauma processing requires close cooperation with an integrative network in addition to a specialised psychologist. Solentra strives to broaden the safety net of refugee children and their families by immobilising (in)formal sources from their environment. Extended family, neighbours, supervisors in extracurricular activities, neighbourhood organisations and school, first line organisations… After all, psychological problems are not only person-specific but are equally influenced by environmental and societal factors. In this way, the mental health and integration of this target group is positively enforced.

  • Focus on resilience: engaging with projects and co-creation processes that stimulate the resilience and adaptability of young people, which ensures better integration and promotes a positive image of refugees.

    To meet the needs of this target group in today’s changing society, Solentra has also established a helpdesk for refugees. This helpdesk is essentially a psychological first aid telephone line that offers the possibility to call a psychologist and have consultations in the native language. Currently our psychologists are available in Arabic, Dari, Farsi and Spanish, but Solentra hopes to expand this offer in the future.

     

How can you help?

Financial support for

For its services Solentra depends mainly on funding. Some people they can help through partnerships and referrals from other organisations, but they also notice that more and more people are left out. They want to be able to help and reach them too, according to the SDG3 of the UN.

  • Trauma therapy for refugee children and their families: interpretation and translation costs, travel costs, consultation costs (Solentra wants to offer the therapy for free). Highly specialised trauma therapy costs money, but the precarious situations of these (sometimes non-recognised) refugee families often form a threshold that must be overcome. Furthermore, it’s important to use interpreters to have consultations take place in the native language as much as possible. Since emotions are stored in one’s native language, this makes it easier for the person to express themselves.
  • To carry out further research into culturally sensitive psychological care services for the target group.
  • For further expansion of the helpdesk for refugees, so that we can offer more telephone consultations in different languages and as such reach more vulnerable people.

 Update 2021

Release by Donorinfo - Last modification : 04/05/2021

Améliorer l'efficacité et l'accès aux soins psychologiques et psychiatriques pour les enfants réfugiés.

Suivi par Donorinfo depuis: 
2015

Mission sociale

Améliorer l’accessibilité et l’efficacité de l’offre de soins psychologiques aux enfants migrants et réfugiés et à leurs familles en Belgique, conformément à l’Objectif de Développement pour le Millénaire 3 (ODM3) des Nations-Unies, qui vise l’accessibilité universelle et financière et une qualité optimale des soins. Tel est également notre cas, pour aider les enfants à réaliser leurs rêves. Pour y parvenir, Solentra utilise la méthodologie spécialisée PACCT, notre propre méthodologie, qui a permis d’améliorer considérablement l’accessibilité et l’efficacité de l’aide psychologique tout en garantissant une haute qualité de prise en charge à notre groupe-cible. À ce titre, Solentra travaille avec des interprètes, car leur approche est culturellement sensible.

Solentra

Que fait Solentra ?

  • Consultations chez Solentra : Expert en psychiatrie transculturelle et en traitement des traumatismes (plus précisément les traumatismes de guerre, les problèmes de migration et les déplacements), Solentra a pour objectif de fournir des soins psychologiques à ce groupe cible, confronté au déracinement, au stress et à la souffrance psychologique dus à l’évolution de la migration. Dans son centre de thérapie à Bruxelles (et dans d’autres centres régionaux), cette association offre un soutien diagnostique et thérapeutique de haute qualité.

    Cette association aide également les réfugiés reconnus, en fonction des autorités concernées et de la possibilité de participer aux frais. La psychothérapie n’étant toujours pas remboursée, cela reste — surtout pour le groupe cible — un obstacle important. Afin de garder le service aussi accessible que possible pour les personnes du groupe cible, qui ont généralement des ressources limitées, Solentra fonctionne gratuitement autant que possible.

    En outre, Solentra encourage la connaissance et l’expertise pour les organisations urbaines et d’aide de première ligne qui sont en contact direct avec le groupe cible. Solentra partage ses nombreuses années d’expertise pour faciliter le flux des enfants migrants et réfugiés qui sont confrontés aux problèmes psychologiques vers le secteur général.

  • Community-based travail: L’ADN de la méthodologie de Solentra est le travail community-based, la conviction que le traitement des traumatismes nécessite une coopération étroite avec un réseau intégratif en plus d’un psychologue spécialisé. Solentra vise à élargir le réseau de sécurité des enfants réfugiés et de leurs familles en immobilisant les sources (in)formelles de leur environnement. La famille élargie, les voisins, les superviseurs dans les activités extrascolaires, les organisations de quartier et l’école, les organisations de première ligne… Les problèmes psychologiques ne sont pas seulement spécifiques à une personne, ils sont également influencés par des facteurs environnementaux et sociétaux. De cette manière, la santé mentale et l’intégration de ce groupe cible sont renforcées de manière positive.

  • Focus sur la résilience : s’engager avec des projets et des processus de co-création qui stimulent la résilience et l’adaptabilité des jeunes, ce qui assure une meilleure intégration et favorise une image positive des réfugiés.

    Pour répondre aux besoins de ce groupe cible dans une société en évolution, Solentra a également mis en place un service d’assistance pour les réfugiés. Cet helpdesk est essentiellement une ligne téléphonique de premiers secours psychologiques qui offre la possibilité d’appeler un psychologue et d’avoir des consultations dans sa langue maternelle. Actuellement, leurs psychologues sont disponibles en arabe, dari, farsi et espagnol, mais Solentra espère étendre cette offre à l’avenir.

Comment pouvez-vous aider ?

Soutien financier :

Pour être en mesure d’aider le plus de personnes possible et de les atteindre également, conformément à l’ODM3 de l’ONU.

  • Pour offrir des thérapies gratuites : traumatherapie pour les enfants réfugiés (reconnus) et leur famille (entretiens, traductions, frais de déplacement, frais de consultation). La thérapie traumatique hautement spécialisée coûte de l’argent, mais la situation précaire de ces familles de réfugiés (parfois non reconnues) constitue souvent un obstacle qu’il faut surmonter. En outre, il est important de faire appel à des interprètes pour que les consultations se déroulent autant que possible dans la langue maternelle. Car les émotions sont stockées dans la langue maternelle, il est plus facile pour la personne de s’exprimer.

  • Poursuivre les études sur les services de soins psychologiques adaptés à la culture du groupe cible.

  • Pour continuer à développer le service d’assistance aux réfugiés, afin de pouvoir offrir de consultations téléphoniques dans différentes langues et toucher ainsi atteindre de personnes vulnérables.

Mise à jour 2021

Fiche établie par Donorinfo - dernière modification : 04/05/2021